The best revision tool I have used…….so far!

The best revision tool I have used…..so far!

#boardrush

Firstly, this is not my idea! @tombrush1982 presented this idea via twitter and I magpied it. Yes, I have tweaked it, but the idea was born by the very creative Tom – so certainly credit where it is due.

Revision Grid - RU 3

Boardrush is a very simple yet very effective learning tool. I have mainly used it for revision, but it could be used with anything and EVERY topic and EVERY subject you can think of.

You create a boardrush template, such as above. I used PowerPoint, but there are other great tools out there too. Questions were created on the topics I had identified with the students on the areas for focus. In total, I have created about 12 of these. All different, with different topics – I will share more as you read on!

I colour coded them, purely to help students make the link between a colour and a topic. For example, all of the above green boxes are components of fitness, either health or skill-related.

I put students in pairs, but any group size will work. Depending on the pair I gave the students an amount of post-it notes. If the pair was more able, I gave them between 10 and 25 post-it notes. Students whose learning was at a slower rate I gave them 5-10 post-its. Students had access to learning materials too, if they felt they needed them. I set a 10 minute time limit, and the students had to complete a ‘connect 5’ type line. If they had 10+ post-its, they were expected to complete a number of ‘lines of learning’.

i

I used this technique a number of times, and my students absolutely loved it! The boys especially liked the competitive element of who can complete the ‘lines’ first.

I created lots of different templates with different questions, but I needed to develop the students thinking. With some help from my outstanding team at school and Tom, I started to do this.

PE 2015-04-29 14.52.19

Firstly, I created a boardrush which had answers on and the students had to write the questions to match, see below:

QUESTION Revision Grid - RU 6

I explained I wanted all of the squares covered – again, more-able had to complete more. Once the board was completed I turned the presentation off. Students then had to collect 2 questions from the board and complete the answers. This helped develop short term memory and make the link stronger between the question and the answer.

Another technique I used was that students could only complete answers using PEA. Feel free to download our PE specific PEA help here. This helped develop students extended answer writing skills.

Finally, I used a picture boardrush, such as below:

PIC Revision Grid - RU 4

Students were given various topics and challenges using this. Firstly, I gave the students a topic, such as drugs in sport. Students had to write a piece of information and link it to a picture.

We would complete a previous boardrush with questions. Then link that information to the pictures. I was trying to develop lateral thinking. This took a little longer to develop, but we managed to do this, and I do believe we will get great results this August.

Students loved this style, and were even asking for more sessions like this. We were able to develop questioning, answering, extended answer writing and lateral thinking. This is just a tool – but it inspired and captured the focus of our students. I would certainly recommend this and will be using again for our current year 11.

Published by

notenuffhours

Senior Leader. Teaching and Learning. PiXL RSL. Raising Aspirations. Head of Physical Education. Love learning and reading. Endurance runner. Evertonian. Father to 3 beautiful girls and husband to an amazing and supportive wife.

2 thoughts on “The best revision tool I have used…….so far!”

Leave a Reply

