iPads in education – our first few steps.

i thought iPads would be useful, but I just did not realise how much they would assist teaching and learning in moving forward.

After lots of research on the net, discussions with colleagues, and by using he best free CPD tool to date in Twitter, I had found out various bits and pieces about the iPad and how it was being used in education. I asked lots of questions, some which annoyed some people on twitter, but I began to rom a plan.

The questioning was needed; I was starting this process as a complete novice, no experience of the sort of technology that could be useI with apple software. I had an iPhone, but fell out of love with it. Since I have got the iPad for school, I have been blown away by its capabilities. The potential and enthusiasm it can create with the students is incredible. I have become an apple fan once again.

I have been using the iPad in lessons since June. Played with the iPad over the holidays, using apps such as Coaches Eye, and really got used to the interface and the software. Once the new term began in September, I set about using the iPad as much as possible in my lessons. The twitter fraternity guided me toward great apps, and I used various in my lessons.

Something that I never accounted for was the enthusiasm of the students for using the iPad in lessons. The students learnt how to se apps so quickly, the learning they were demonstrating was incredible. I have posted some of their work on twitter and on here.

The power that this device has and the excitement and quality of work it generated with the kids is worth the investment alone.

I thoroughly recommend these devices, and apple software over anything else on the current market. I hope to get a few more iPads and slowly but surely, get more teachers and students developing their learning with the support of these devices.

A class set of 10 of these devices would make a huge difference to the learning experience for ALL students in PE. My next goal is to convince the HoFs to trial them in their lessons ( 3 others are starting using them next week for 4 weeks).

A tide off support is growing and I think that teachers and students who use these devices will produce better, more effective and better results.

More to follow…

Published by

notenuffhours

Senior Leader. Teaching and Learning. PiXL RSL. Raising Aspirations. Head of Physical Education. Love learning and reading. Endurance runner. Evertonian. Father to 3 beautiful girls and husband to an amazing and supportive wife.

2 thoughts on “iPads in education – our first few steps.”

  1. Thanks for sharing this. I’m doing research into the use of iPads in (primary) science. I’m just curious as to what apps you’re using with students? Do they allow the students to create their own content? Also, how do the students use them? 1:1 or collaboratively? Are they still engaging with them or is the novelty of new technology beginning to wear thin?

    Sorry for all the questions!
    David.

    1. Hi. Sorry for long delay. Been ill and our third daughter was born in early october and came home 4 weeks later.
      We use various apps, lots of ones for video analysis and presenting the students work. We only have one ipad per class at the moment – we are the pilot, but it is prooving so popular and powerful that I believe we will invest in these over the next few months.
      I dont believe the novelty will wear off, but it must be used as a tool – not the only way to teach and learn. But as something else to engage the students. Some amazing science apps out there – well worth for science. The ability of the apps and the device to allow studnets to produce the work, in such a short period of time is brilliant. Revolutionised how we teach observation and analysis skills – something we highglighted as needing improvement. Now, right up there with some of our other strengths. Just would like 9 more ipads and we will be set.

Leave a Reply

